The nominating committee of the Guam Chamber of Commerce has encouraged a number of regular attendees at chamber functions to step forward as candidates for election to the chamber’s 2006 board.

According to Michael T. Benito assistant general manager at Payless Supermarkets Inc. and chairman of the nominating committee of the chamber those who have agreed to his request to join the ballot include Laura-Lynn V. Dacanay vice president and manager of the Maite Banking Center of First Hawaiian Bank; Mark Mamczarz vice president for accounting and finance for Black Construction Corp.; George Lai president of Quality Distributors Inc. Sinforoso “Rossi” Tolentino administering partner at Carlsmith Ball LLC and Torgun Smith general manager of Morrico Equipment.

A number of chamber officers are due to continue their terms including Philip J. Flores president and chairman of BankPacific Gerald S.A. Perez proprietor of MicroMed Suppliers and general manager of the Guam Visitors Bureau Benito; James L. Adkins president of East West Rental Center Inc.; Gregory D. Perez president of Perez Bros. Inc; Joey Crisostomo president of Cars Plus LLC Monty Mesa president and general manager of Guam Premier Outlets Frank J. Campillo health administrator at Calvo’s Insurance Underwriters Monty M. McDowell president of Advance Management Inc. Carl Peterson president of Money Resources Inc. and Jerold W. Filush managing partner of Deloitte & Touche LLP.

Benito said those who have also indicated a willingness to join the 2006 ballot include Peter “Sonny” P. Ada president of Ada’s Trust & Investment Inc.; Brian Artero president of Lone Star Steakhouse Ronald A. Benoit vice president of NBK Trading Charlene Goo vice president for operations for the Pacific Region for Outrigger Hotels & Resorts and Christopher Felix principal broker at Century 21 Realty Management Co.

Stepping aside this year are Bruce Kloppenberg of Kloppenberg Enterprises and Jeff B. Jones vice president at Triple J Enterprises Inc.

Chamber members will also be voting on three amendments to by-laws:

To adjust excused absences by board of directors from regular meetings from three consecutive or any six regular meetings of the board of directors during a directors term to three meetings per calendar year;

To allow for telephonic attendance; and

To grant the executive committee the authority to retain a director’s membership on the board.

If adopted amendments will take effect on Jan. 1.

Members may vote on Nov. 30 at the annual membership meeting to be held at the Guam Marriott Resort & Spa may appoint a proxy to vote on their behalf at the meeting or may vote absentee at the chamber office from Nov. 14. MBJ