On Feb. 26 Allen Stayman head of the U.S. Congress majority bloc’s congressional staff; met with members of the Saipan Chamber of Commerce and other local business people at the Fiesta Resort & Spa Saipan. At the meeting were (back row from left) Alexander A. Sablan administration and marketing manager of Saipan Shipping Co. and chamber vice president; Jay B. Jones vice president of Triple J Saipan Inc.; Michael Johnson managing partner at Deloitte & Touche and chamber treasurer; Christine Parke executive director of the chamber; Douglas Brennan vice president and general manager of Microl Toyota Corp.; Becky Cabales-Castro general manager for Triple J Five Star and chamber director; James Arenovski president of Delta Management Corp. and chamber secretary; Stephen Jang president of Cartridge World Saipan and chamber director; Kathryn Barry regional manager for sales at PTI and chamber director; James Lin president of the Saipan Garment Manufacturer’s Association and owner of United International Corp.; Harry Blalock general manager of KZMI/KCNMI and chamber director; Marian Aldan-Pierce president of DFS Galleria Saipan and vice chairman of the Marianas Visitors Authority; David M. Sablan president of Century Insurance Co. Ltd. and chamber director; and (front row from left) Juan T. Guerrero president of Herman’s Modern Bakery and the Marianas International Travel Agency and chamber president; Joshua Johnson U.S. Senate staff member; Stayman; Stephen Sanders congressional liaison to the NMI Office of Insular Affairs; and Jeffrey Shorr field representative for the NMI Office of Insular Affairs.
Chanel held the launch of Les Exclusifs de Chanel a collection of rare fragrances on Feb. 20 at its Tumon Sands Plaza location. At the launch were (from left) Krystal K. Koga proprietress for Krystal Collection; Li Wei Pieper cosmetologist; Patricia D. “Tish” Untalan general manager for Chanel (Guam/Saipan) Inc.; Leonora C. Jordanou; and Jennifer Robato director of Oceanic Lumber.
The Saipan Chamber of Commerce held a Poker and Cigar night mixer on Feb. 23 at AJ’s Restaurant. Attending the mixer were (from left) Bennet Seman Roman S. Palacios chairman of the board for Saipan Stevedore Co. Inc.; and Patricia T. Palacios president of J.C. Tenorio Enterprises and Roman’s wife.
The Guam Women’s Club’s 53rd Mardi Gras Ball was held Feb. 17 at the Hilton Guam Resort & Spa. At the ball were (from left) Walter B. Dias staff vice president of sales and marketing for Continental Micronesia; Raymond Gibson director of operations and programming for the Sorenson Media Group; and Chita A. Blaise chief executive officer for the Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross.
The U.S. Small Business Administration held its 2007 Small Business Awards on Feb. 21 at the University of Guam where Kenneth Q. Lujan branch manager of the U.S. SBA Guam branch office; presented Lucy M. Alcorn president and chief executive officer of Global Food Services and Facilities Management LLC which does business as GFS Group; with the 2007 small business person of the year award. At the presentation were (from left) Lujan; Gov. Felix P. Camacho; Alcorn; and Madeleine Z. Bordallo Guam’s delegate to Congress.
A contingent of Guam mayors attended the Association of Pacific Island Local Governments on Feb. 27 in Manila. Attending the conference were (from left) Vicente C. San Nicolas mayor of Asan/Maina; John A. Cruz mayor of Hagatna; Carol S. Tayama mayor of Agat and vice president of the Mayors’ Council of Guam; Francisco C. Blas mayor of Tamuning; Robert R.C. Hoffman vice mayor of Sinajana; Louise C. Rivera vice mayor of Tamuning; Roke B. Blas mayor of Sinajana; Paul M. McDonald mayor of Agana Heights; Sen. Rory J. Respicio of the 29th Guam Legislature; Joseph C. Nocos vice president of business development of the Heritage Hotel in Manila; Peter R. Sgro Jr. president and chairman of the board of International Group Inc.; and Edgar D. Sevilles vice president of operations of Alto Power Management Group.
The Chinese Chamber of Commerce celebrated Chinese New Year on Feb. 11 at the Guam Marriott Resort. At the celebration were (from left) Richard K. Lai executive vice president of Shirley’s Coffee Shop and secretary general of the chamber; Fong Wu president of Sunny Plastic (Guam) Inc. and president of Pacific Sunny Development Corp. and treasurer of the chamber; Gov. Felix P. Camacho; Alfred Lam president of the Chinese chamber and president of Ambyth Shipping & Trading Inc.; and George K. Lai president of Quality Distributors and vice president of the chamber.
First Hawaiian Bank held a dinner for visiting executives on Feb. 19 at the Outrigger Guam Resort. At the dinner were (from left) Anthony R. Guerrero Jr. vice chairman of the retail banking group at First Hawaiian Bank; Laura-Lynn V. Dacanay senior vice president and Guam/CNMI Region Manager at First Hawaiian; and Raymond S. Ono executive vice president and manager of business banking and main banking region for First Hawaiian Bank..
The Chinese Association of Saipan held its Chinese New Year celebration at the Fiesta Resort & Spa on Feb. 24. At the event were (from left) Judge David A. Wiseman of the Superior Court of the Northern Mariana Islands; Johnnie Fong general manager of Coca-Cola Beverage Co. (Micronesia) Inc. and president of Nakicos Corp. and Subway Investments Corp.; and vice president of the association; Ta Bun Kuy owner of Chow Queen Restaurant Dollar Days Department Store and Micro Beach Hotel; Gov. Benigno R. Fitial; and Antonio Lim association director and director for the association.


Marianas Business Journal

Bringing you exclusive business news, expert advice and data for Micronesia.

At the Guam Restaurant and Hotel Association Gala held at the Hyatt Regency Guam on Feb. 24 were (from left) Richard G. Rennie general manager for the Royal Orchid Hotel Guam and chairman of GHRA; Tricia A. Cruz relationship manager for Citibank; Marry P. Torre president of the Guam Hotel and Restaurant Association; and Bartley A. Jackson general manager of the Pacific Island Club Guam and vice chairman of GHRA.