HAGATNA Guam – The U.S. Small Business Administration announced the start of the agency’s prestigious annual Small Business Awards competition for 2011 – including competition for the annual National Small Business Person of the Year.
The Small Business Awards honor small business owners and the champions of small business interests for their achievements in select categories.
This year the SBA will recognize winners in the following award categories:
– National award: Small Business Person of the Year – Any individual who owns and operates or who bears principal responsibility for operating a small business may be nominated. Partners who jointly own and operate a small business may be nominated as a “team”” so long as the number of individuals in the team nomination does not exceed four;
– Local awards (given by the SBA Guam Branch Office): Financial Services Champion of the Year Home-Based Business Champion of the Year SBA Young Entrepreneur of the Year Veteran Small Business Champion of the Year Women-in-Business Champion of the Year Minority Small Business Champion of the Year Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year and Small Business Exporter of the Year Award Entrepreneur Success Award;
Federal procurement Awards: Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year Small Business Subcontractor of the Year Dwight D. Eisenhower Award for Excellence Gold Star and Frances Perkins Vanguard.
Individuals who know of qualified persons are strongly encouraged to nominate such persons for the Small Business Award categories above. Nomination forms are available electronically and can be requested by contacting Kenneth Lujan at the SBA at (671) 472-7277 or via email at [email protected] Completed nomination forms are due to the SBA Guam Branch Office by Nov. 12.
The Guam Small Business Person of the Year will compete nationally against winners from the 50 states the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico for that award category during National Small Business Week in Washington D.C. on May 15-22 2011.