Guam Business Magazine hosted the Guam Business Magazine 2021 Executive of the Year reception at the Hyatt Regency Guam on May 7.

Photos by Justin Green

(From left) Ernesto V. “Jun” Espaldon Jr, president of Quick Services Foods Inc. and Fun Foods International Inc. which do business as Wendy’s and Cold Stone Creamery respectively; Herbert J. Johnston Jr., education director, GCA Trades Academy and president, Guam Association for Career & Technical Education, both nominees for Executive of the Year; Gov. Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero leading the champagne toast to the Executive of the Year; Thomas W. Krise, president of the University of Guam, chairman of the Research Corporation of UOG and executive secretary of the UOG Endowment Foundation, nominee; Edward G. Untalan, executive vice president and retail banking region manager for the Guam and CNMI region of First Hawaiian Bank and 2021 Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year, Hanseok “Nick” Song, president of Haevichi Hospitality Guam Inc., which does business as the Westin Resort Guam; Dr. Ho Nguyen, principal partner and president, American Medical Center, both nominees; and Maureen N. Maratita, publisher of Guam Business Magazine.

(From left) William D. Beery, vice president and general manager for Tutujan Hill Group Ltd. and chairman of the Guam Contractors Association and the GCA Trades Academy; Jay R. Shedd, chief marketing officer for Citadel Pacific Ltd.; Jeffrey B. Jones, president and chief operating officer, Triple J Enterprises Inc. and 2015 Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year; and Robert J. Marks, president, Hagatna Bay Consulting Inc.,

(From left) AnnMarie T. Muna, president and general manager and 2019 Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year; and Patti Arroyo, talk show host at Sorensen Media Group’s K57 and emcee for the reception.

(From left) Ernie Galito, business development director; Trina Cruz, marketing and communications director; and Tom Mazzei, sales director, all with Atkins Kroll Inc.

(From left) First gentleman Jeffrey A. Cook, partner and attorney at Cunliffe and Cook; Gov. Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero; Marcos W. Fong, managing director of Glimpses of Guam, which publishes Guam Business Magazine; and Melody Fong, wife of Marcos.


The Guam Hotel & Restaurant Association hosted a tourism social on May 11 at the
Hilton Guam Resort & Spa.

Photos by Colin Kirk

(From left) Tae S. Oh, president, Alupang Apartments Corp. and Vantage Advertising, and allied vice chairman; Dean Huntsman, general manager, Dusit Thani Guam Resort, and hotelier vice chairperson, Mary P. Rhodes, president; Sophia Chu Wigsten, general manager, Hyatt Regency Guam, and chairperson; Nick Song, general manager, The Westin Resort Guam and board director; and Jeffrey W. Schweizer, president, Asia Pacific Hotels Inc. and board director, all members of the GHRA board.

(From left) Hiroki Sugie, general manager, Hilton Guam Resort & Spa; David Baldwin, general manager, Dusit Beach Resort Guam; Rhodes; Huntsman; Wigsten; Kevin Tsurui, general manager, RIHGA Royal Laguna Guam Resort; Schweizer; Song; and Mitsuo “Mike” Sato, president, PHR Ken Micronesia Inc.


The Holiday Resort & Spa held a re-opening ribbon cutting on May 19 at the hotel, prior to its official re-opening in June.

Photos by Justin Green

(From left) Hee K. Cho, president of JMSH LLC, which does business as the Holiday Resort; In Kook Kim, head of mission for the Consulate of the Republic of Korea in Hagåtña; Gov. Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero; Carl T.C. Gutierrez, president of the Guam Visitors Bureau; and Seong Cho, executive director of JMSH and director of sales, Holiday Resort & Spa Guam.

(From left) Christopher L.C. Duenas, chief financial officer, Triple J Enterprises Inc.; Tae Oh, president, Alupang Apartments Corp. and Vantage Advertising; Brian Lee, executive administrator, Chinese Chamber of Commerce Guam; and Albert Wu, director of Sunny Plastic (Guam) Inc. and president of the United Chinese Association of Guam.


The International Women’s Club of Guam held an induction ceremony and dinner May 12 at the Dusit Thani Guam Resort for the 2022 to 2023 board.

Photos by Justin Green

Taking office were (from left) Pairin Freed, member-at-large; Shahajahan Jiffry, treasurer; Cari Nakagawa, secretary; Edith Y. Kawahara, vice President; and Jeanny G.A Donatus president.

The outgoing 2021 to 2022 board are (from left) Mahina Anderson, president; Hanna Lee, treasurer; Al Payne, secretary; Alicia Roberto, vice president; Pairin Freed, member-at-large; Shahajahan Jiffry, member-at-large; and Dorothy Borlas, immediate past president.